A Travellerspoint blog

Fwd: Bouno Sera from Taormina

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Denis (Travel) Greening
Date: Friday, October 7, 2011
Subject: Bouno Sera from Taormina
To: "<frankattilio@optonline.net>" <frankattilio@optonline.net>, Mike Amato <mike.amato@mantech.com>, Rick Auld <rauld@harris.com>, Robert Bairstow < Robert@bairstow.com>, Ashley Behnke <arduvall@yahoo.com>, Dave Behnke < dave.a.behnke@gmail.com>, Travel Blog < dgreening.mem6p@moblog.travellerspoint.com>, Robert Bruce < RBruce@infopro.net>, Sara Buchner <sbuchner@cruiseplanners.com>, Ryan Burns <burnsre99@yahoo.com>, Javier Caravajal <CIMASTUDIOS@msn.com>, Rick Clemens <clemrw49@yahoo.com>, Nieves Costa <speakfreely5@comcast.net>, Whit Creech < cwcreech1@earthlink.net>, Latha D <ldhananjayan@verizon.net>, Kathryn Dailey <kathryn.dailey@mantech.com>, Robert Dannucci < Robert.Dannucci@associates.dhs.gov>, Ethel Davis <Ethel@ethel.com>, Dorje Dronma <dorjekpc@gmail.com>, steve Edelman <steveedelman2.0@gmail.com>, Alex Enders <ale5@cornell.edu>, Calvin Faulkenberry <ecfaulkenberry@gmail.com>, Celeste Greening <RMEBRAT1217@msn.com>, Denis Greening <dgreening@gmail.com>, Denis work Greening <denis.greening@mantech.com>, Denis Greening < dgreeningmd@gmail.com>, JoAnne Greening <jgreening1@gmail.com>, Juanita Greening <Nitacjb1@comcast.net>, Kevin Gwynn <ob1webbie@gmail.com>,
Katherine Gypson <katherinegypson@yahoo.com>, "harley.mccray@mantech.com" < harley.mccray@mantech.com>, Don Harris <omegadon@comcast.net>, Botsford
Harry <botsfordhj@thebotsfords.com>, Ed Hudson <edhudson3@gmail.com>, Javier <JavierKFM@gmail.com>, Stephen & Gail Jones <Islandjones@netzero.com>, craig kimberlin <craig.kimberlin@mantech.com>, Everett and Masha Johnson Lori < elm31178@gmail.com>, Brooke Manesh <bmanesh1@verizon.net>, Harley McCray < cjme@comcast.net>, Patrick McMahon <pmcmahon@whitefriarshall.org>, Dave Middlestead <dmiddlestead@shaw.ca>, Regina Ming <r3ming@yahoo.com>, Steve Nichols <stevennichols@gmail.com>, Hughes Petteway <jazzman98@socal.rr.com>, Pat Princess <princecesspat@gmail.com>, Fred Raley <fred.raley@mantech.com>, Lois Rathus <LoisFR@aol.com>, Mike Rampy <michaelrampy@me.com>, jack Raymond <jraymond@cfl.rr.com>, Mike Schultz <mbpschultzies@verizon.net>, Mark Schwartz <mark.schwartz@mantech.com>, Bwana Sharma <bsharma@mitre.org>, Bradford Shaw <bradford.shaw@yahoo.com>, Margaret Shinnebarger < margaret@shinnebarger.com>, John W & Lois Simpson <jwsimple@comcast.net>, Carol Steever <csteever50@gmail.com>, Joe Sleiman <ysleiman@bellsouth.net>, Karen Smith <TSMITH@digitalexp.com>, Josh Smith <josh@frogdog.us>, Melissa Smith <Melissa@frogdog.us>, Bill Stewart <bill.stewart@iname.com>, Cathy Thompsom <catjwt@sc.rr.com>, Joe Turco <Joseph.Turco@mantech.com>, Mark & Dana Uehling <theuehlings@verizon.net>, Daylia Vaughn <daylia@comcast.net>, Cara Ventura <cara1515@verizon.net>, Eliza Ventura <eventura@cap21.org>, Frank Ventura <fventura@cap21.org>, Patrick Ventura < pventura@brownadvisory.com>, Michael Ventura <ace4fair@msn.com>, Sharon Ventura <sgoldburn@verizon.net>, Gene & Aila Vorhies <geneaila@aol.com>, Dennis Wightman <denniscwightman@gmail.com>, Nancy Williams < Nancy@yourabsolutecomfort.com>, Stephanie Wingert < stephanie.wingert@mantech.com>, Robbie W Wink <rwink@csc.com>

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Denis (Travel) Greening
Date: Friday, October 7, 2011
Subject: Bouno Sera from Taormina
To: "frankattilio@optonline.net>, Mike Amato, Rick Auld, Robert Bairstow, Ashley (Duvall) Behnke, Dave Behnke, Travel Blog, Robert Bruce, Sara
Buchner, Ryan Burns, Javier Caravajal, Rick Clemens, Nieves Costa, Whit Creech, Latha D, Kathryn Dailey, Robert Dannucci, Ethel Davis, Dorje Dronma, steve Edelman, Alex Enders, Calvin Faulkenberry, Celeste Greening, Denis Greening, Denis work Greening, Denis (Travel) Greening, JoAnne Greening, Juanita Greening, Kevin Gwynn, Katherine Gypson, harley.mccray@mantech.com, Don Harris, Botsford Harry, Ed Hudson, Javier, Stephen & Gail Jones, craig kimberlin, Everett and Masha Johnson Lori, Brooke Manesh, Harley McCray, Patrick McMahon, Dave Middlestead, Regina Ming, Steve Nichols, Hughes Petteway, Pat Princess, Fred Raley, Lois Rathus, Mike Rampy, jack Raymond, Mike Schultz, Mark Schwartz, Bwana Sharma, Bradford Shaw, Margaret Shinnebarger, John W & Lois" <mike.amato@mantech.com>, ", Mike Amato, Rick Auld, Robert Bairstow, Ashley Behnke, Dav" <frankattilio@optonline.net>

here is my retransmission

Taormina is a beautiful town along the southeastern coast of Sicily
[at the toe of the boot of Italy]. It is located high above the coast
with a great view of the surroundings [incl Mt Etna]. Much like Malta
this area has been attacked/ rules by many people throughout the ages [Greece, Rome, Saracens, Normans, France (Pope Innocent IV, a
Frenchman, decided the island was his to give), Spain (I realize that
I have mixed countries and peoples, pls forgive me Dr. Rampy!)]. Today
it is a tourist magnet. Lots of shopping [I will try to hold back my excitement!], restaurants, cafes, bars and gelato shops. Let's just
say that we did our part to stimulate the economy of this country.

The cultural attraction is the Greco- Roman theater at the top of the
hill. It was built by the Greeks in the 3rd century BC, then
redesigned to fit Roman tastes when they took over. It is very well
preserved and I think it is still in limited use today. The other nice
thing is that the position affords a great view of the coast line and
Mt Etna.

We've been having a great time. Except for about 45 minutes we have
had no rain and the temps have been very comfortable.

This evening we will go through the straits of Messina and later
tonight we will pass by Mt Stromboli another active volcano.

Take care ... Denis

--
_______________________
Denis Greening (Travel)
Blog: dgreening.travellerspoint.com

--
_______________________
Denis Greening (Travel)
Blog: dgreening.travellerspoint.com

9_1318003578837_photo1.jpg

10_1318003580134_photo2.jpg

Posted by dgreening 09:06

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUponRedditDel.icio.usIloho

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

This blog requires you to be a logged in member of Travellerspoint to place comments.

Enter your Travellerspoint login details below

( What's this? )

If you aren't a member of Travellerspoint yet, you can join for free.

Join Travellerspoint